Which Instant Message Software Do You Use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
As the thread title suggests .....

Which Instant Message Software Do You Use?

I'm currently using Adium and Pidgin

What about the rest of you?

link8r

Yahoo, MSN and skype. But mostly Skype. Great for IM-chatting especially when you have teams/employees in different countries. I like it because you can discuss something technical over a say on hour but it doesn't tie you up from answering e-mails and doing other things like a phone call does.

link8r

Yeah. I know I can use them all together on Meebo - but meebo sux. I've been using Yahoo IM for about 14 years now, dont really have that many contacts on it.

I use Skype daily. Probably should just use Pidgin right? how does it compare to the new skype?

You see I keep skype for work clients and MSN for friends who are scattered all over the planet - nice to keep them separate

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
I haven't tried using Skype via Pidgin, though it works fine via Adium

You can easily disable which accounts are connected at any given time plus hook into a bunch of other stuff like Facebook chat, Gtalk etc.,

MayaLocke

It sounds crazy but I use Groove for IM. I find regular IM too interruptive ( is that a word?). By using Groove I can respond when I choose, and the only people I chat with are related to business collaboration.

Donagh

It's MSN for me although i must admit that i don't IM to regurally, just once or twice a week lately.

Maximum Bob

Gtalk and Skype for me, we use google hosted apps company wide so its handy for all of use in different locations to gtalk directly from the gmail page. Use skype for friends and some overseas clients/suppliers and for making those long distance calls, although blueface now seems to have made that end of things a bit redundant

searchmasters