Is the IT lifestyle bad for your health?

• Yes

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
Just wondering what others think ...

Do you think that working in IT has a negative impact on your health?

n3tFl0w

Definitely! As a sysadmin I'm ridiculously busy and have the most sedentary job on the planet!

I used to get out to the gym at lunchtimes but then it got too busy, so we didn't get any. Hoping to get back to that routine as its killing me having not been in a couple of months!

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
Second n3tFl0w. Beside gym, add cigarettes + coffee
Well I don't smoke during office hours Monday to Friday, but I don't get any physical exercise and drink a silly amount of coffee (at least it's good quality!)

nevf

I'm at school, Monday to Friday, so I'm walking around the school with the head in the books, and away from IT. But I find that the only time i get to do anything on the laptop is late at night, so i'm often up until 2am or even later (sometime 4/5am), and then i have to be up again at seven so even lack of sleep affects me. And I work Saturday, so I use the computer all day anyway, but at least I get a bit of exercise around it.

Then because I know a lot about computers, it's a factor in me being secretary or chairperson on every committee or organisation I'm in, and spend hours every day typing up stuff.

Then I spend time arsing about on IWF and Boards mainly, but also running around online just researching stuff.